Philosophy Minor

Course Requirements

Students must have taken or currently be enrolled in at least one lower-division philosophy course in order to declare the minor. Students declare by contacting the undergraduate adviser, who will develop an individual academic plan and complete a Petition for Major/Minor Declaration form. Students should contact in order to declare.

A minor in philosophy consists of nine of the 11 courses required for the major, and will meet the following distribution requirements:

Lower-Division Courses

The following course:

PHIL9Introduction to Logic



One other course numbered below PHIL 100A, with the exception of PHIL 8 (PHIL 8 may satisfy the elective course)

Transfer students should check for articulation agreements.

Upper-Division Courses

History of Philosophy

Two of following courses:

PHIL100AAncient Greek Philosophy


PHIL100BThe Rationalists


PHIL100CThe Empiricists



Four additional upper-division courses. At least one in value theory and two in metaphysics and/or epistemology (see Philosophy B.A. course requirements for a list of courses that satisfy this requirement).


The final course may be lower- or upper-division.

Course Substitution Policy

One upper-division course substitution may be considered. Lower-division courses completed elsewhere may also be considered. Substitution requests are to be made via petition to and are subject to approval by the undergraduate program director. There is no senior exit requirement for the minor.

For the sequence in which courses must be taken, see Major Requirements.