2020-21 Administration

University of California Administration

The governance of the university is entrusted, under the state constitution, to the Regents of the University of California. The Board of Regents is presently composed of 18 members who are appointed by the governor of California, subject to California State Senate confirmation; seven members who participate because of the offices they hold; and a student member appointed by the board.

The president of the university is the chief executive of the 10-campus system. He or she is appointed by the Regents and is directly responsible to them.
Each of the 10 campuses of the university has a chancellor, its chief administrative officer, who is responsible for the organization and operation of the campus, including academic, student, and business affairs.

The Academic Senate, consisting of the faculty and certain administrative officers, determines the conditions for admission and degrees, subject to the approval of the Regents; authorizes and supervises courses and curricula; and advises the university administration on important matters such as appointments and promotions, budgets, student discipline, and administration of the library.

The Regents

Ex Officio Regents

Gavin C. Newsom, Governor of California
Eleni T. Kounalakis, Lieutenant Governor
Anthony Rendon, Speaker of the Assembly
Tony K. Thurmond, Superintendent of Public Instruction
Michael V. Drake, M.D., President of the University
Debby Stegura, President, Alumni Associations of the University of California
Eric Mart, Vice Chair, Alumni Associations of the University of California

Appointed Regents

(Term expires on March 1 of year indicated)
Maria Anguiano (2029)
Richard C. Blum (2026)
Laphonza Butler (2030)
Michael Cohen (2030)
Gareth Elliott (2025)
Cecilia Estolano (2022)
Howard "Peter" Guber (2029)
George Kieffer (Chair) (2021)
Sherry L. Lansing (2022)
Richard Leib (2026)
Hadi Makarechian (2032)
Eloy Ortiz Oakley (2024)
Lark Park (2029)
John A. Pérez (2024)
Janet Reilly (2028)
Richard Sherman (2025)
Jonathan Sures (2020)
Charlene Zettel (2021)

Student Regent

Jamaal Muwwakkil (2020-21) UC Santa Barbara

Officers of the Regents

Gavin C. Newsom, President of the Board
John A. Perez, Chair of the Board
Cecilia Estolano Vice Chair
Charles F. Robinson, General Counsel and Vice President, Legal Affairs
Anne Shaw, Secretary and Chief of Staff
Jagdeep Singh Bachher, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer
Alexander Bustamante, Senior Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer

University Officers

Michael V. Drake, M.D. (Beginning August 2020)

Executive Vice President—Chief Operating Officer
Rachael Nava

Chief Administrative Officer
Adrienne Fulk

Provost and Executive Vice President—Academic Affairs
Michael T. Brown

Executive Vice President—Chief Financial Officer
Nathan Brostrom)

Executive Vice President—UC Health
Carrie Byington

Senior Vice President—Ethics, Compliance, and Audit Services
Alexander Bustamonte

Senior Vice President—External Relations and Communications
Claire Holmes

Vice President—General Counsel
Charles F. Robinson

Vice President—Agriculture and Natural Resources
Glenda Humiston

Vice President—Human Resources
Dwaine B. Duckett

Vice President—Information Technology Services and Chief Information Officer
Tom Andriola

Vice President—Institutional Research and Academic Planning
Pamela Brown

Vice President—Investments and Chief Investment Officer
Jagdeep Singh Bachher

Vice President—National Laboratories
Craig Leasure

Vice President—Research and Innovation
Theresa Maldonado

Vice President—Student Affairs
Yvette Gullatt (Interim)

Vice Provost—Diversity and Engagement
Yvette Gullatt

Vice Provost Academic Personnel and Programs
Susan Carlson

Associate Vice President—Federal Government Relations
Christopher Harrington

Associate Vice President—State Government Relations
Kieran Flaherty


UC Berkeley
Carol T. Christ

UC Davis
Gary May

UC Irvine
Howard Gillman

Gene D. Block

UC Merced
Juan S. Muñoz

UC Riverside
Kim A. Wilcox

UC San Diego
Pradeep Khosla

UC San Francisco
Sam Hawgood

UC Santa Barbara
Henry T. Yang

UC Santa Cruz
Cynthia K. Larive

UC Santa Cruz Administration

Cynthia K. Larive

Campus Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Lori Kletzer

Associate Chancellor and Chief of Staff
Anna Finn

Chief Campus Counsel
Lorena Peñaloza

Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Teresa Maria Lina Scholz

Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Equity and Equal Protection
Isabel Dees

Vice Chancellor—Research
Scott Brandt

Interim Vice Chancellor—University Relations
Mark Delos Reyes Davis

Vice Chancellor, Planning and Budget

Vice Chancellor, Information Technology
Van Williams

Vice Chancellor, Business and Administrative Services
Sarah Latham

Vice Provost—Academic Affairs
Herbert Lee

Interim Vice Provost and Dean—Graduate Studies
Quentin Williams

Vice Provost and Dean—Undergraduate Education and Interim Vice Provost, Global Engagement
Richard Hughey

Interim Vice Chancellor—Student Affairs and Success
Jennifer Baszile

University Librarian
M. Elizabeth Cowell

Interim Dean of Arts
Edward (Ted) Warburton

Dean of Social Sciences
Katharyne Mitchell

Dean of Engineering
Alexander Wolf

Dean of Physical and Biological Sciences
Paul Koch

Dean of Humanities
Jasmine Alinder

Dean of University Extension
P.K. Agarwal

Associate Vice Chancellor—Enrollment Management
Michelle Whittingham

Assistant Vice Provost—Academic Personnel
Grace McClintock

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Strategic Initiatives
John MacMillen

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research Administration
Kate Aja

Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
Deirdre Beach

Director, Office of Management of Intellectual Property
Jeff Jackson

Director, Office of Research Compliance
Laverne Estanol

Director, Research Integrity and Export Control
Lisa Coscarelli

Director, Research Business and Operations
Cayla McEwen

Assistant Vice Chancellor—Constituent Engagement
Gwen Jourdonnais

Director, Government and Community Relations
Melissa Whatley

Associate Vice Chancellor—Colleges, Housing and Educational Services (CHES)
Sue Matthews

Associate Vice Chancellor—Risk and Safety Services
Jean Marie Scott

Associate Vice Chancellor—Staff Human Resources
Steven Stein

College Administrative Officers

Sarah Woodside Bury, Colleges Nine and Ten (Interim)
Vacant, Cowell and Stevenson Colleges
Alex Belisario, Crown and Merrill Colleges
Mari Ortiz-McGuire (Interim), Oakes College and Rachel Carson College
Michael Yamauchi-Gleason, Porter and Kresge Colleges

The UC Santa Cruz Foundation

The UC Santa Cruz Foundation is a nonprofit, public benefit corporation formed in 1974 to promote greater understanding of UC Santa Cruz and to encourage and accept gifts in support of academic programs, scholarships, fellowships, and capital improvements.

For more information about the UC Santa Cruz Foundation and for a current list of the Board of Trustees and Officers, visit UC Santa Cruz Foundation.


Revised: 09/11/20