Anthropology Minor

The minor in anthropology has a total of 10 courses required: three lower-division and seven upper-division courses. There is no theory course or senior comprehensive requirement for the minor in anthropology.

Course Requirements

Lower-Division Courses

ANTH 1Introduction to Biological Anthropology


ANTH 2Introduction to Cultural Anthropology


ANTH 3Introduction to Archaeology


For information on receiving credit for lower-division coursework taken at other institutions, see the section Transfer Credit Toward Major/Minor Requirements

Upper-Division Courses

  • one course in regional specialization
  • one course in sociocultural anthropology
  • one course in archaeology
  • one course in biological, medical, or environmental anthropology
  • three anthropology courses from the Courses in Anthropology by Category  (no independent study courses)